Six SEHA clubs won national championship titles

Tatran presov

Deals are sealed in national championships of Hungary, North Macedonia, Croatia, Serbia, Slovakia and Belarus and we’re proud to say SEHA – Gazprom League has five old-new champions – Vardar 1961 in North Macedonia, PPD Zagreb in Croatia, Vojvodina in Serbia, Tatran Presov in Slovakia, Meshkov Brest in Belarus and one new champion in Telekom Veszprem which managed to get the title back home finishing ahead of big rivals from Szeged. Bringing the national  title back to Veszprem will surely serve as a big confidence boost for coach Momir Ilic and his guys ahead of the tournament in Cologne where they will be aiming for the much-desired EHF Champions League trophy.

Vardar 1961 defended the title in North Macedonia finishing first, right ahead of their biggest rivals Eurofarm Pelister. Coach Zeljko Babic and his guys proved to be a tough opponent for everyone in North Macedonia including Vardar but the ‘Red&Black’ in the end managed to come out on top once again securing their 15th championship title in North Macedonia.

In Croatia, PPD Zagreb managed to secure their 30th championship title defeating biggest rivals Nexe Nasice 3-1 in the final series. In the final match, PPD Zagreb secured a 24:26 win in Nasice with Ivan Cupic exploding for 10 goals. PPD Zagreb’s incredible streak started all the way back in 1992.

In Serbia, coach Boris Rojevic and his Vojvodina managed to secure another title – their ninth in a row, tenth overall in Serbian championship. Race for the second place was much more interesting with Partizan securing the second place ahead of Metaloplastika two rounds before the end with a win over Dubocica.
In Slovakia, Tatran went 3-0 in the play-off finals against Kosice with Radoslav Antl taking his first championship coaching title in Slovakia. This was their 17th title which helped them add another year to the incredible streak which started all the way back in 2007. In Belarus, Meshkov Brest managed to defend the title sealing the deal with a 30:27 win over biggest rivals SKA Minsk in the final round.